Engine out...rear main, clutch, ???

twodogs

Supporter 2021
I have a 200 cid inline six in my '74 Bronco. I've had the rig for about a year. I'm not a mechanic but I'm fairly handy at remodeling/restoring. The engine runs great but I noticed what I suspected was a rear main leak. I pulled the engine today to take care of that. I know I could have left the engine in place but I suspected the bellhousing had a good amount of gunk that was fouling my clutch. The clutch is pretty smooth, but I get some chatter primarily only on reverse.

I've included a few pics to better explain what I have in front of me. My questions so far are:
In the pic showing the seal cap, notice that I put a black line with a sharpie on the left side. I was wondering if that's basically where I need to apply anaerobic flange sealant. I was only going to put RTV on the seal ends, as well as a small amount to plug the hole where the pin was to keep the rope seal in place.

It's clear that I'll need to clean out the bellhousing. Any tips besides a putty knife and some brake cleaner?

Lastly, I don't know how old the clutch is but it is pretty smooth even with all that gunk in the bellhousing. When do you decide to put in a new clutch versus cleaning up and reinstalling the old one?

Thanks for any help you can provide to this novice!
Brent

Attachments

• IMG_5348.JPG
    IMG_5348.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 128
  • IMG_5340.JPG
    IMG_5340.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 129
  • IMG_5347.JPG
    IMG_5347.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 128
  • IMG_5349.JPG
    IMG_5349.JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 129
Thought I'd add a pic of the actual rig. It's pretty much all original, including the paint. I do love it!

Attachments

• IMG_4599.JPG
    IMG_4599.JPG
    2.5 MB · Views: 121