Lots of nitrous...

ScottStaypuff

Hi guys, I'm a newb here and will probably have a ton of questions about getting max power out of 250/300 I6s (for my Maverick). I also have a Neon and have nitrous on it, controlled by an NX Maximizer. The Ford I6 is a different animal but many of the concepts should crossover from this FAQ I wrote. Just thought I'd share what I know...

LOTS of Nitrous

Scott Kornish wrote:
You're looking at start percent of 20-30% in 1st w/ build time of 2 seconds or so.
30-45% start percent in 2nd gear.
40-65% in 3rd gear.
50-80% in 4th gear

Start with long build times and low percentages and work your way to faster build times and higher nitrous start percentages.

NX conservatively states that a typical stock 4 cylinder engine can handle a straight 75 shot with no problems. At 3000 rpms the torque added would be 75hp*5252rpm/3000rpm = 131.3 ft-lbs. So to be conservative we'll say your engine can handle making 230ft-lbs of torque without bending a rod. (Assuming you're hitting the nitrous while already accelerating the car). You want to set up you nitrous controller so you don't exceed this torque limit. At 6000rpms a 125 shot would add 125*5252/6000 = 109.4ft-lbs. You're way safe as long as you set the time on the controller to be hitting full nitrous by the time you're at 6000rpm. I use Desktop Dragstrip to help figure out time in each gear so I know how long to set the build time for. Its kind of a guessing game, but just work your way up and input your data as you go to match your real world runs as closely as possible.

Here's a basic "How To: Not Break your Engine with Nitrous" I wrote...

"From my experience and what I've researched on the subject I believe that an engine will live a long and healthy life with nitrous use if you just don't exceed certain limits. Pretty much all common sense...
1) You can't ask the engine to make too much torque, you'll bend the rods