All Small Six Large Log Head Questions

This relates to all small sixes

Mattsmall1972

Hi all - I am new to this as I just purchased a 1966 Mustang with the 200. I’m doing a mild build. The plan is:

Holley Sniper 1100
HEI distributor
Headers/dual exhaust
Schneider 256-2H cam
Large log head

I have purchased a 1977 large log head from ebay. Assuming it’s stock head, I am looking for milling information.

1) Do I tell the shop the ccs that I need and have them figure it out? If do, what is that number for my build?

2) Are there any recommended machine shops in SC for this work?

3) Are the stock springs and valves sufficient? If not, what’s recommended?

Thank you!

1. Check out the tech archives on here. https://fordsix.com/ci/Tech.html
3. The springs/installed height is going to be based on the cam. In this case the Schneider 256-2H cam card with tell you the seat pressure.

I would get rid of the HEI and get the full Holley hyperspark for the for 200 inline 6 so that you can control timing. You need hyperspark distributor, coil, and cd box.

1. Check out the tech archives on here. https://fordsix.com/ci/Tech.html
3. The springs/installed height is going to be based on the cam. In this case the Schneider 256-2H cam card with tell you the seat pressure.

I would get rid of the HEI and get the full Holley hyperspark for the for 200 inline 6 so that you can control timing. You need hyperspark distributor, coil, and cd box.
You pushed me over the edge with the timing... I returned my HEI and have ordered the hyperspark. :)
I'll check with Schnieder on springs and the tech forum for the deck. Thank you!