i broke the head/intake manifold...

A

Anonymous

hey i am new to the six performence, i was gonna do a v8 swap in my 66 mustang but you guys inspired me to do somthing different. anyways i was taking my engine apart to do a complete PERFORMENCE re-build. and as i was taking the exhaust manifold off the first bolt if your looking at it as if it was in the car broke because it was rusted on there. now the bolt didnt break the head part around the bolt broke off. is there a way i can fix it or should i get a new one considering im going for performence and if so what one is best. oh and where do you guys get all your parts im having a hard time finding them. thanks :D

66 sprint 200ci
3spd

Welcome Ponyrider66:

You have come to the right place for advise. Many wise and experienced 6 cyl owners in here.

Anyway, about your problem.

Ashame the head broke. I know the bolt you are talking about, I have broken many of those. Usually the bolt breaks and you can bore/press it out. However since the head cracked and gave way you are going to have to replace it. There is no known way to fix it that will be permanent.

In replacing the head, you have a few options. First tell us more about your engine. Is it stock? What year are the block and head currently? What carb and distributor are you running.

If it was stock and you wanted to maintain that, you would start looking for a 200 head from around the same time, 65-68. Most of these will be log type heads with 1.5 carb openings and the smaller valve sizes.
This would probably replace your head if it fits the stock year. I would have a three angle valve job done, have hardened seats put in and you could just swap them out.

If you want to upgrade your engine a little. You could do one of many different things....