All Big Six Best 300 head for a turbo build.

Relates to all big sixes

BigRigTech

I’ve been gathering parts for a while now to build a blow thru 300 turbo deal. I have 2 carb’d heads and an EFI head here. Im trying to decide which head to use? I have a pair of EFI exhaust manifolds, offy intake with a Holley 600DP (may use a 500 2bbl) and Borg Warner s364.5sxe turbo. I’m planning on a small cam upgrade and roller rockers as well. I’m a truck and transport mechanic so I’ll be doing the fab and assembly myself. Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the Fordsix forum.
Great to see another turbo project.

The EFI head has shrouded valves in order to create swirl which is a restriction to airflow below .350" valve lift.
The carburetor head has a more open chamber and will breath better.
The larger chamber volume in the carburetor head makes it easier to have the lower compression needed for a turbocharged engine.

Last edited:
If you can find an earlier year head - '65 to '7sumpthin - they are better since they have pushrod guide slots and that makes pushrod alignment easier.

Borg Warner turbos have a very wide compressor operating range and is an excellent choice for a street engine.

Here is the compressor map for your turbocharger.
The lower red line shows the operating range at 7.5 psi of boost from 2500 to 6000 rpm on a 300 six with a fully ported head and properly selected camshaft profile.
The upper red line shows the same rpm operating range at 15 psi of boost.

SX300 2.jpg

You will want a camshaft profile to focus on peak torque between 3500 and 4000 rpm in order to match the turbochargers operating range.
The .050" duration would need to be a minimum of 230 degrees and could be as high as 240 degrees depending which end of the power band you want to cater to.
The head will need to fully ported and use a 1.94" intake valve with a 1.60" exhaust valve.

Which turbine housing do you have?

Last edited: