All Small Six A vacuum advance question-modifying the Autolite 1100 to provide port vacuum and bypass the SCV

This relates to all small sixes

Kritas

Supporter 2023
This is my first time dealing with an Autolite 1100 and the spark advance system on an old Ford, so bear with me. I've replaced my stock distributor with an HEI unit. When I made the change, I plugged the vacuum advance port on the carburetor and spliced the vacuum advance unit on the HEI to the PCV line using a 3-way barbed fitting. Since I've been doing some additional work before putting the car on the road, it's only been started a few times since these changes were made and seems to run fine.

My understanding from another thread was that the spark advance on the Autolite shouldn't be used with the new distributor. I want to verify that is accurate and ask if there is a better alternative for providing vacuum to the distributor as an alternative to the PCV line. The carb spacer that I'm using has one port and I'm using that for the PCV line. I could drill a second hole and install a fitting for the vacuum advance to the distributor if required.

Hi Kritas, you can't use the old SCV Carb as a ported Vacuum source to operate your newer HEI or a DuraSpark II Distributors Vacuum Advance Canister unless you mod it. This is because the SCV Carbs use a combo mixture of Ventra Vacuum and Manifold Vacuum this is based on the engine Load. On the Autolite 1100 Carbs there is a simple way to convert it over to ported Vacuum for use with your Distributors Vacuum Advance this is the Drop A Load Mod if you want to learn how here is the link. https://fordsix.com/threads/delete-scv-on-1100-autolite-for-ported-vacuum.76821/
The other way to do it is to hook the Distributors Vacuum Advance Canister direct to a manifold Vacuum source that is below the Carb on the intake and then plug off the old SCV Carb port. It also a bad Idea to be tapping into the PCV Vacuum Line with a T fitting. Good luck