Turbo and cam options

Okay, I’m completely new to the world of forced induction. I’m reading as much as possible but a lot of this is just estimating what might get me in the ballpark of a fun ride. I’m asking for help and guidance from the group that knows more than I do. Will this turbo work well on the 200 and which cam would be the best option?

I’m running a 200cid, with mostly stock components. I have a 78 large log head, non-ported with stock valves and stock springs. I know I’ll probably have to change out springs to accommodate the new cam. I’m not looking for the 200 to make all its power on the top end since I doubt I’ll be in that RPM rang much.
I'm having a exhaust manifold built to accommodate the turbo. I’m having an issue choosing the cam and turbo set up. This is what I found so far. This is not the ultimate build for me, this is just an intro and learning experience to forced induction for me. I found two cams but which one is best? I would like the cam to have just a tad bit of lope for fun and a turbo that Will spool pretty quickly. I want to run 8-10 lbs of boost…. Nothing crazy.

Attachments

• 6E67794C-9718-4574-A099-39EE0EA25302.jpeg
    6E67794C-9718-4574-A099-39EE0EA25302.jpeg
    642.9 KB · Views: 33
  • E41DB1A3-4593-4C75-A7A2-C37DEC557B7A.jpeg
    E41DB1A3-4593-4C75-A7A2-C37DEC557B7A.jpeg
    646.2 KB · Views: 32
  • B71B4CF4-EA67-466E-87FF-7C9B2B68EAFA.png
    B71B4CF4-EA67-466E-87FF-7C9B2B68EAFA.png
    373.9 KB · Views: 31
Last edited:
If you are looking for good turbo response the overlap on the cam profile should be minimized.
If you are using a log style exhaust manifold the exhaust duration can be less than the intake duration since there will be no exhaust scavenging.

An exhaust manifold with primary tubes for cylinders 1,2,3 going into one collector and tubes for 4,5,6 going into another collector, then joining the two collector outlets into a "Y" pipe will give the best results.