Power steering pump modification for oil pump.

Mydogisshaggy

Anyone think that the vains or parts can be modified to make a belt driven oil scavenge pump down to the appropriate psi levels, either a cheap ford OEM pump or a Saginaw pump would be preferred because the whole idea is low cost. But worst case scenario the lower pressure mustang II pump for the rack and pinion puts out 2.gph I think or about 900psi. They make fittings or bypasses for those pumps to reduce flow but I'm no expert with supply and return line sizing and flow calculations and all, not to mention oil Aeration in general. And I really should do more research into turbo oiling/cooling in general but what I know at the moment for a remote mount setup is that I need a 40psi oil supply and drain and cooler. A separate system from the engine is better but not sure how cost prohibited it actually is. Maybe a transfer pump or dedicated oil pump is a better system anyway considering this will still draw power off the belt/crank but it would be a cool experiment. Is there anything I can do for tricks to reduce aeration? Either through dual coolers or spiraled tubing maybe? I know a baffled reservoir could help but wondering if it's enough. I'm not opposed to tapping the system into the engines oiling system , I guess a dry sump system is what it's called? My current oil pump is probably not up to the task and seems to be a weak point in the 300s anyway. Any thoughts or ideas are welcome please and thanks. I've found these nice 40psi oil regulators but need to figure out the maximum allowed inlet psi and exactly how many I would need and where in the system to keep the pressure in the right place.

Attachments

• Screenshot_2022-07-09-20-52-52-64_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg
    Screenshot_2022-07-09-20-52-52-64_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg
    278 KB · Views: 2