What ignition system is “best”

vssman

I‘ve noticed a shift over the years in recommendations for ignition systems to the DS11. Technically, what makes this superior to the other choices? One of Mike’s articles touted the HEI as a “better” system: https://fordsix.com/ams/ignition-system-choices.13/ . My experience with the DS11, when I was a mechanic, was less than ideal going so far as to install a back up module on rental vans in case the original module gave out. So please discuss what is a ’best’ ignition system from a technical standpoint without regard to appearance, etc…

This has been discussed many times before and everyone has a different perspective on what aspect is important.
Engine performance, reliability, parts availability, cost, ease of timing advance adjustments and so on.

Carburetor 300 six or EFI 4.9 six?

What aspects are important to you?

Last edited:
Here is what we know.

The HEI distributor advance curves are wrong for all Ford 300/4.9 sixes.
All distributor advance curves are wrong for any of the 4.9 EFI engines.

After back to back testing of ignition systems on the 300 six, the MSD ignition systems offer the best low rpm torque and fuel mileage.

Last edited:
Just trying to get a better understanding of the recommendations for the small 6. Not trying to stir a pot, or anything. Genuinely interested in factual information.

Just trying to get a better understanding of the recommendations for the small 6. Not trying to stir a pot, or anything. Genuinely interested in factual information.
Just trying to figure out what parameters you are looking at for ignition system comparisons.
Would this be for the 200/250 six?

Yes, for a 200 six.