Synchronizing thermal efficiency and the Torque Curve.

Hi I am looking to rebuild a 1996 ford 300 six. The engine comes from an F-150 and has EEC-V with MAF. I have the full donor truck and intend to build and tune the engine in the donor before swapping to a 1997 F-250 HD that currently has a 351 Windsor EEC-IV and SD. A switch preswap to Mega Squirt may be in the cards. I am a computer geek by trade so building and programming a Mega Squirt sound like fun to me.

I have done some research on thermal efficiency. The basic idea is that if your piston is moving too slow a lot of heat is lost to the cylinder head, walls, and piston. Alternatively if your mean piston speed is too fast the friction losses greatly increase.

Based on research the optimum thermal efficiency should be between 16.4 and 19.8 FPS Mean Piston Speed. This calculated out to 1484 to 1791 RPM. With 3.55 gears an E4OD and stock 235/85/16 tires this should be excellent at desired cruse speeds.

I understand that the desired mean piston speed is a generic number and there are a lot of factors but I would like to aim for the 1500 to 1800 window for peak thermal efficiency. Since the 300 is an almost square engine this should be a fairly accurate range.

The old single carb engines reached peak torque at around 1600 RPM. The EFI engine has peak torque listed at 2000 RPM. I understand intake runner length is a large factor in peak torque due to the ramming effect. My goal is to try to move peak torque into the same range as peak thermal efficiency.

I have done the math and 3.55 gears E4OD with stock tires should work great for keeping the 300 in this optimum thermal efficiency. Since Mean Piston Speed is a function of stroke I can’t really change that variable.

My overall goal is to place ideal thermal efficiency and ideal volumetric efficiency at cruising RPMs. The goal is mainly drive ability and maybe a little MPG to boot.