All Small Six engine upgrade 170-> ??

This relates to all small sixes
Hello all. Newbie here. Excited to find this resource. I have an early-vintage industrial 170 in a Thiokol snowcat. Long story, but after limping along for several years, the engine seized up. Now I need to fix. Goals: reliable and more power. Torque more than HP. Questions: would you just rebuild the engine? Bore it out? Swap with a 200 or 300? Push it off a cliff with a D8 that I needed when I got stuck in the snow and had to walk 2 miles the other day?

Thanks in advance for opinions & input. For those who aren't familiar, these beasts are basically a tractor on tracks, built in Logan, Utah, with mechanicals from the Ford parts bin. Engines were industrial straight-6's (170, 200, 300). Latter ones had bigger engines, with C-4 or C-6. Mine has 4-speed NP435. If I could get it to work consistently, then maybe the family would be willing again to ride in it?! They like walking in the snow even less than I do.

abce8b0f390f7c9dfc5be0deb9b8a30e.jpg

unless your up for serious fab'n, swapping in a 200, would be simplest - with a few bolt-on and/or internal mods it could give a nice increase in power you could use and feel. ( sure it's still a 170?) .

'Modern" electronic ignition (DSII) and better carb or aftermarket FI, could eliminate most common problems forcing a tow or walk home.

hav efun

here in N.E. legendary Mountain Houses needed all kinds of snow machines to groom downhill , CC and and snobile' trails. I had privilege of working in maintenance in one with 'Hedco' VW engined snow-makers and tracked groomers...

. .