So what should I do next?

A

Anonymous

Since I first got my car just over 3.5 years ago, I've done lots of work:

C4 rebuild
replaced lifters and pushrods
complete brake system rebuild
all new front and rear springs (V8 leafs for better ride)
all new steering (box, arms, etc)
all new front suspension, except for the lower control arms
KYB GR2 nitrogen shocks on all 4 corners
Pertronix ignition
14x6 American racing wheels, p225/60/414 front, 70/r14 in back
Lakewood chrome traction bars
Cliffy port divider and dual header with true 2" dual exhaust
shoulder seatbelts

Here's the situatuon I'm in. I'm a sophomore in college, so obviously funds are limited. The body really is starting to need work (needs new quarters and wheelhouses, etc), but I can't afford that, but at the same time, I want the car to last. It's been a great car--I put 30,000 miles on it driving it daily--and I don't want it to go junky on me. Fortunately the interior is still in good shape...maybe a new dashpad and carpet is in store, but for now the interior is good enough for government work...

Would you recommend an engine/trans/rear buildup in the meantime? I mean, the car itself is very solid so I'm not worried about it turning to a pile of rust anytime soon, so I'd say the car is a good candidate for some performance work.

What would you recommend as the most cost effective option for upping the power output? I'd love to crank the horses up with an Aussie head and 2bbl Holley, but I'm not sure about the expense for that. I know I should replace my cam sometime too...I was thinking an Isky 260 or a Comp 262.

On the other hand, it seems feasible to swap in a T-5 and a 3.20 rear end so I can at least make better use of the power my engine's making right now. Fortunately I have a 66 Block with a 2.77 trans attached to it sitting in the back yard, so getting the bellhousing and stuff would be pretty simple...

Blah, so many things I want to do, never the time or money.