Six stroke Engine

blprice74

Supporter 2020
Two questions....

1. Has anyone ever actually seen a six stroke engine?

2. If it is as great as what I have read, then why are we not seeing production on a mass scale?

For those who aren't familiar, and I am by no means an expert, Bruce Crower manufactured a six stroke engine. From my research, a six stroke engine was actually invented in 1915. There are several different types. A single piston, duel piston, and multiple pisons. Crower's design is a simple idea, the first four strokes are the same... The fifth stroke introduces water which vaporizes quickly (second power stroke), and sixth stroke is exhausted water and vapor. The supposed benefits are much less engine cooling is needed. No radiator, fans, etc., with an extra power stroke, increased fuel economy, less expense of gases.

So there has to be a "bad side", right? Otherwise we would all be driving six stroke engines. Problem is I can't find good information. My personal opinion is the loss in weight of engine cooling components, would be more than replaced by the weight of water. But the other gains are interesting... I've read as much as 40% gains in efficiency and economy. The major downfalls that I've read were: complex intakes, camshafts, and expensive costs to manufacture. But at a supposed 40% gain in efficiency? Wouldn't that all be negligible?

Brandon