All Small Six 1967 Ford Falcon 200 turbo budget build, need help

This relates to all small sixes

Stillwater

I just purchased a 1967 Falcon with a 200 in it. I have researched for hours and its all blending together. So I am a novice to restoration and engine work. My end goal is to daily drive, but when I hit the pedal I want to go fast. Hoping to get about 20mpg and was thinking that a turbo would be the way to do this. Also thought about EFI. In my research it seems I need to get a 1977 or later head, but can't find one, advice? Are there any articles done with a budget turbo build and cost estimate? Hopefully, listing all parts necessary to do? Thanks in advance.

Also what would it take with electrical and tranny?
Assuming EFI, about 7 amps higher than stock. For the trans, mods or build to handle projected HP. Often, a build to standard V8 spec's is plenty. My last turbo build with EFI control used common parts and DIY ECM to control them, and a rebuilt factory turbo from a different application. A water-air intercooler and water injection with a custom exhaust brought the total investment to $1800 start-to-finish.

If you use commercial "kits" for any of it, the investment will be much, much higher. Invest your time, or your money, where it counts most. The most important "part" will be the tuning. Save time and budget for plenty of that, to gain both power and reliability.

I'm in the US not sure that motor would fit into a 67 falcon. Also what would it take with electrical and tranny?
Probably OTT for you, barra will fit, we have earlier crossflow engines and a SOHC version as well, they all will fit into a 67. You can get carby manifolds for all of them if you could not work with EFI. As to trans, yes that will be an issue as bellhousings are different to the USA sixes. Just for your amusement , here is my 200ci crossflow head blown six. 4 speed behind, this is in a 65 falcon.
This runs on propane. RIMG0044.JPG

Last edited: