DS II distributor control module

I have no experience with the DS modules, but I've had an HEI 4-pin module firing my DS1 distributor for going on 10+ years now with ZERO ignition issues. Starts and runs like a champ!

I have always used the genuine Ford Motorcraft or a NAPA Ignition Control Module (ICM) they will last a very long time when you use the Ford spec or better parts you won't have trouble, there maybe another brand or two that are also good I don't know but as with many things you get what you pay for. A totally stock DSII system offers faster start ups, power to fire .044 plug gaps and longer life of all the ignistion parts it is more than adequate for stock or mildly built engines, plus there are some improved parts such as better coils and plug wires available for the more Hi Performance engine builds too. Couple of things you can do to improve the life span of the ICM even more is to try and mount them in the coolest place and or were they get really good air flow, and make sure it has a good body ground. I have used these stock DSII ignition systems on many early cars and trucks using parts straight out of the junkyard and have had success every time. If you have the stock Ford Wire Harness, DSII Distribitor, plus it's matching Coil and one of the good ICM's it's as close as you can get to plug and play install with only a two wire hook up, (ask me if you need the directions). If you look at the Ford Cars that came stock with this system they have a reasonably good mounting location for the ICM, my plan to improve this was to make a custom wire harness and mount the ICM inside the car under the dash, don't have a car right to do this on though so as of yet this experiment is on hold.