Head Swap Pointers

cr_bobcat

Famous Member
Supporter 2018
Supporter 2021
So I'm just about to do the head swap and I want to make sure I don't do anything stupid. I've never done this before so any pointers would be most appreciated.

Head: 2bbl conversion, oversized valves, damped valve springs, 48cc chambers
Gasket, 2 choices: ROL (assuming it's a 0.050" compression height), OEM "valve grind kit" (~0.035" compression)
Bottom End: Stock, stock, stock
Distributor: HEI (not a DUI)
Carb: Autolite 2100 1.14, 1" riser (2 x 0.5" phenolic spacers so that linkages clear the log)

I do have a new cam to go in, but I'm not planning on putting it in until this winter. I'd kind of like to get the carb dialed in before I deal with the cam. I've never done a cam install either so I'd like to keep my unknowns at a minimum unless you guys convince me otherwise. This means I'll probably run the ROL gasket since it's a rockauto special. I realize that this means I'm throwing away a gasket, so I'd rather not throw away the thinner OEM gasket.

I have the head stud kit that I got from Will awhile back. Do I need to be careful with anything here with respect to oiling?

Am I being to much of a yella belly about the cam? I realize it's creating a lot of extra work from the perspective of draining the cooling system twice. I just know what I went through a couple years a go and a simple "replace the water pump" ended up in all kinds of shinanigans and took me forever to resolve. I'd kind of like to be able to enjoy driving her as much as possible leading up to Thanksgiving.

Do I need to worry about these valve springs with my existing cam? Am I running the risk of wiping a lobe? Do I need to reassemble the head with the stock springs?

Now is the time to install the cam, cause you have to remove the head to remove the old lifters & to install the new lifters on the new cam.
I like the Victor head gasket, its thinner & seals excellent.