Belated intro and cracked head rebuild

SweetSix

Greetings all,
I've been visiting this site for a few years now, posting only when I really need help- kinda like Homer Simpson praying to the Almighty only when he's really in trouble.
It's time I provide the whole story. Cuz I'm in trouble. Pull up a chair. Get a cold, or hot, beverage.
I live in Southern California. I paid $15 for my first car in 1969 in Chicago- '62 Falcon, 4 door, straight six Futura, don"t remember which displacement. It had a black exterior with a white, spongy vinyl roof, red bucket seats with a chrome center console AND stock 4 speed manual!!! Maybe it was a two-door? Major body rust from Chicago winters. It was so bad that when I'd drive in a snowstorm the snow would blow up through the holes in the passenger floor, much to the chagrin of my girlfriend. Got a picture somewhere of it, gotta find it.
So it was quite a thrill when, 10 years ago, I had the chance to buy a beat up '65 Ranchero 200, C4. It was a mess when I bought it for $500 from the 2nd owner who had it parked in his driveway, idle, in Los Angeles for a couple years, and had done nothing to it after buying it from the original owner who had also done little maintenance on it. I've have slowly been restoring it as time and money allowed.
Before I'd learned of this site I had the engine rebuilt in 2011 by an unknown mechanic who was referred to me by a friend. Over the years I've replaced most of the window and door seals, flushed and repaired the gas tank and radiator, replaced the wheel bearings, brake cylinders, pads, drums, master cylinder, tie rods, center link, idler arm, engine mounts, starter, exhaust, etc, etc. Couple years ago I bought an Autolite 1101 off ebay and installed it with a DSII (after persistent problems with the 1100 and several Pertronix failures).
Last week my block cracked. How that happened is a good, hard lesson learned which I'll briefly share so others don't make same mistake.